Third Prize
Hannah Lipton

Moné Hattori, Violin, JAPAN)

Hannah Lipton (b.1992) began her musical studies at 5 years old with lessons in

classical piano in her hometown of Croton-on-Hudson, New York. She eventually developed

an interest in composition as a high school student and began composing pieces for solo piano.

Hannah went on to pursue a Bachelor's degree in music at Skidmore College, where she

continued to study composition independently and took courses in French, modern dance,

ballet, political philosophy and English and played keyboard in a rock band.

After graduating from Skidmore College, she pursued private instruction with

composers Justin Dello Joio and Evan Fein. Hannah has also studied and taken master classes

with composers Derek Bermel, David Tcimpedis, Samuel Adler, Aaron Jay Kernis, Meredith

Monk and David Lang among others. Her music has been performed by groups such as

Ensemble ACJW, American Modern Ensemble, Quartatto Indaco (The Indigo Quartet),

Manhattan Symphonie and PHASE. Summer Festivals attended include California Summer

Music, Brevard Music Center, HighSCORE Festival, Bowdoin International Music Festival,

Mostly Modern Festival and Vienna Summer Music Festival. She also received a fellowship

to The Yale School of Music’s Norfolk Chamber Music Festival. Hannah was the winner of

the Charles Ives Concert Series call for scores and the Flute New Music Consortium and had

her piano concertino, Galaxy Pond selected to be played by USC’s New Music for Orchestra

concert in the winter of 2020.

Hannah holds a master's degree in composition from The University of Southern

California Thornton School where she studied with Frank Ticheli, Donald Crockett and Ted

Hearne. In addition to music, Hannah has interests in folk and pop music-writing, visual art

and animation.